Home Event and Festivals First and Last Countries To Enter New Year 2023: Is Kiritimati First...

First and Last Countries To Enter New Year 2023: Is Kiritimati First Nation To Ring in NY? Know When January 1 Begins Around the World at Different Time Zones

First and Last Countries To Enter New Year 2023: The clock is ticking closer, and it is almost time to enter 2023 with a bang. And as we prepare to welcome New Year 2023, understanding the symbolism of the New Year and what it means to the world is very important. As the ball falls at midnight and the New Year begins, it brings with it a bouquet of new opportunities and fresh starts for millions of people. The love and craze for New Year celebration stem from that excitement. And it is the one celebration that is welcomed and marked by people in all the different corners of the world, even if we are not all doing it at the exact same time. However, it does raise the question – Which country enters the New Year 2023 first and What will be the last country to enter 2023? Well, here’s what you need to know! Which Country Will Celebrate New Year 2023 First and Last? Know When January 1 Begins Around the World at Different Time Zones.

The First Country To Enter New Year 2023

New Year 2023 will be welcomed by the easternmost island of Oceania first. The tiny Pacific island nations of Tonga, Samoa, and Kiribati will welcome January 1, 10 am GMT or 3.30 pm IST on December 31. Following this, the New Year will be celebrated in New Zealand, Australia, Japan and South Korea.

The Last Country To Enter 2023

The celebration of New Year rings across the world following its beginning and goes on well through New Year’s Day. However, the last country to welcome 2023 will be Baker Island, where midnight will strike at 5.50 pm IST. Marques Islands and American Samoa will welcome the New Year before Baker. Happy New Year 2023 Images & HD Wallpapers for Free Download Online: Wish HNY 2023 With SMS, New WhatsApp Stickers, Messages and Quotes.

List of Countries to Enter First and Last Into New Year According to Indian Standard Time (IST)

  • On December 31 at 3:30 pm IST, Tonga Samoa and Christmas Island/ Kiribati will first ring in the New Year. Then at 3:45 pm in the Chatham Islands.
  • At 4:30 PM- New Zealand
  • At 5:30 PM- Russia
  • At 6:30 PM – Australia’s Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara
  • At 7 PM-Adelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna
  • At 7:30 PM- Brisbane, Port Moresby, Hagatna
  • At 8 PM – Darwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek
  • At 8:30 PM – Japan and South Korea in Tokyo, Seoul, Pyongyang, Dili, Ngerulmud
  • At 9:30 PM – China and the Philippines
  • At 10:30 PM – Indonesia and Thailand
  • At 11 PM – Myanmar
  • At 11:30 PM – Bangladesh
  • At 11:45 PM – Nepal’s Kathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Dharan
  • At 12:00 AM – India and Sri Lanka
  • At 12:30 AM – January 1 IST Pakistan
  • At 1 AM – Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan, Iran, Moscow, Greece, and Germany will follow this
  • At 5:30 AM IST, January 1, the United Kingdom will welcome the New Year
  • This will be followed by Brazil and Newfoundland
  • From 9:30 AM to 1:30 PM Indian time, Canada and followed by the USA will ring in the New Year
  • The Marquesas Islands and American Samoa will follow this, and in the end, at 5:50 PM Indian Time, the outlying Island – Baker Island, will ring in the New Year!

We hope that 2023 brings you all the love, light and happiness you deserve. May you celebrate this wonderful day in the presence of your beloved family, friends and every near and dear one.  Wishing you all a very Happy and Prosperous New Year 2023!

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Dec 31, 2022 08:58 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).